Dorchester Congressman

My congressman in Dorchester is named Michael E. Capuano. This is his ninth term as a Representative in Congress for Massachusetts’ seventh District. His parents were from Brighton as well as Dorchester. Growing up in Dorchester I have lost a lot of friends and family to gun violence so I wanted to know what Congressman Capuano’s stance on gun control was. He believes that the federal government should help our communities that have been having trouble with these issues and he believes in the COPS program which provides funding to keep cops on the street. In 2009 he was able to get $1 billion dollars in federal funding to support the COPS program.  He has recently called a need for a renewal of assault weapons ban. I believe that this is a good thing and we should have a ban on assault weapons but this doesn’t really do anything for Dorchester. Most of the gun violence here is done by hand guns and not assault weapons. I believe we need to work on gang violence more and separating those in the gangs within Dorchester.

Another thing we deal with growing up in Dorchester and Boston is transportation. When ever I hear people talk about the transportation today it’s usually in a bad way.  I remember when there was talk of bringing the Olympics to Boston and people did not believe that the MBTA and our roads would be able to keep up with addition car traffic and T riders. They could barely handle last year’s snow. It was interesting to see what our Congressman was doing to help improve our transportation. In 2014 the MBTA opened its first new station in 30 years.  I think that they should try to fix up the existing stations before building new ones. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been walking through downtown crossing and have had an unknown liquid drop on my face and in my eye. Congressman Capuano is on the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure  and works on getting funding for transportation projects. I think they need to rethink their strategies and look at the bigger picture.

Leave a Reply

